June 1, 2013
Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

IMDB Synopsis: After the crew of the Enterprise find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization, Captain Kirk leads a manhunt to a war-zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction.

Ok, if you’re going to read this blog, you must understand that I am a wee bit of a Trekkie. “Oh God! No!” you may scream as you stare at the naughty words “Live long and prosper” on this very movie review blog. Well, yes. I am, and I am so very sorry. On top of that, I adore Benedict Cumberbatch, so when they announced his role as the villain Jim Harrison/Khan, I was exorbitantly happy to say the very least. Anyway, so I went into the theater with high hopes, and I’m glad to say that those expectations were met! I think the CGI was amazing, if you’re not a special effects or cinematography nerd and typically don’t care about that sort of stuff; Into Darkness will open your eyes. (That sounds ironic, whoops.) The storyline is a wee tacky, and pretty predictable, but once you get over that it’s pretty good. I mean, it’s a science fiction. There’s a good chance that if a film belongs in that category, it WILL get outlandish and ridiculous, but that’s the beauty of a great imagination and the magic of Hollywood, my friends. JJ Abrams once again captures the audience in such a manner that you can’t help but hold on for the ride.

I don’t really know what else to say about this movie besides the fact that I adored it. I love this concept, I love where it went, I just loved it. I’m sure this wouldn’t necessarily tickle everyone’s fancy, but I would recommend watching it if you have a taste for adventure and exploring the infinite abyss, the final frontier, something that has captured my curiosity for ages.

Rate: 10/10 

February 8, 2013
Warm Bodies (2013)

IMDB Synopsis: After R (a highly unusual zombie) saves Julie from an attack, the two form a relationship that sets in motion a sequence of events that might transform the entire lifeless world.

Despite missing the first 20 minutes of this film, I quite enjoyed it! Granted, a majority of the dialogue on behalf of Juliet (our female lead) was complete shite, it was a cute film. The lighting was a bit weird, but the physical comedy and the overall idea was equally funny as well as it was original. I was surprised at the fact that even though Nicholas Hoult was undead, I was still, very clearly attracted to him. Lots of unexpected people in this film as supporting actors, John Malkovich, Dave Franco, etc. which was a really lovely surprise. Not the best zombie comedy I’ve seen, but it’s entertaining, I’ll give you that.

Rate 7/10 

January 2, 2013
Films are Fantastic.

I really wanted to write something about why I love films so much, and so here it is.

All right kids, so if you know me, you really can’t have a full conversation with me without me interjecting the phrase, “Oh, have you seen…(insert film title here)?”

And I CONSTANTLY get the question, why do you like films so much? How do you know so much about film? Well, to be quite honest, when you’re passionate about something, it means everything to you.

Some people are passionate about writing, some are passionate about reading or acting or making art or playing music.

Well, I’m passionate about film. And a life without passion really just isn’t a life at all.

Film is beautiful. It’s a combination of writing, visual art, theater, music, basically all major forms of art. And it’s glorious. Film, as Martin Scorsese said in Hugo, is a physical medium for filmmakers to share their dreams, ideas, thoughts. It’s really so beautiful to see all the different perspectives on life through the eyes of filmmakers. Everyone interprets the moral integrity of a film in their own way, and that’s promotes individualism in today’s society, have your own opinion, have your own thoughts, be your own person.

I love films, movies, cinema, whatever you call it, because I think that the industry is so innovative. If you really think about it, filmmakers have shaped thoughts of minds all over the world. There are always new ways to create film, new techniques, new actors. As the world turns, film changes too. Don’t get me wrong, classic films are amazing and relative to today too.

I respect filmmakers. I respect all people involved in movies, and movies themselves. All movies come from an idea, and extend into something great, something bigger. It takes work. Sometimes movies do fantastically in the public audience, sometimes not so great. But in reality, all films deserve the utmost respect.

I know that this is kind of rambly, and no one will probably read it. But film means so much to me. Film is a way to escape reality, to leave worries and anxieties outside the theater doors. And no matter what anyone says to me, “Sarah get a life” “Sarah it’s just a movie.” It’ll probably be so much more than that to me.

6:25pm  |   URL: http://tmblr.co/ZIQapuap5F4n
  
Filed under: film movies movie rambly rant 
September 8, 2012
Charlie Bartlett (2007)

IMDB Synopsis: A rich kid becomes the self-appointed psychiatrist to the student body of his new high school

I can honestly tell you, my reader, that this is one of my all-time favorite movies. Yes, it’s similar to ferris Bueller and It’s Kind of a Funny Story. However, Charlie Bartlett is unique and generally lovely in every single way. I adore the cast, and the chemistry between Anton Yelvich, Kat Dennings, and Robert Downing Jr. The movie is beautifully written, with tremendous wit yet with the right touch of sentimentality to generate relatability to a young audience. The soundtrack fits the storyline perfectly. Basically I thnik that everyone that watches this movie will fall in love with some aspect of the lead Anton Yelvich as the character Charlie Bartlett. Why you may ask? Well, to put it quite simply, because “we’re all fucked up in some way,” and this movie demonstrates that in the most lovely way. I may romanticize this movie a little, yes, but the film gives the opportunity to fill in blanks. The post-pubesant characters are a little stereotypical and not as common in today’s society, but at some point it was which makes the film relevant in that aspect. I really love this movie and I highly suggest it to anyone that enjoyed Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, It’s Kind of a Funny Story, Rushmore, etc.

Rate: 9/10

September 4, 2012
Sixteen Candles (1984)

IMDB Synopsis: A young girl’s “sweet sixteenth” birthday becomes anything but special as she suffers from every embarrassment possible.

Ok, let me first start this off by giving the reasons I like this movie. 

1. It’s relatable. It’s easy to feel like you’re in the shadow of someone else.

2. It’s hilarious. I used the line “Can I borrow your underpants for like ten minutes?” on the first day of Biology Freshman year while talking to my friend. My teacher thought I was crazy. Whatever.

3. THE CAST THE CAST THE CAST

4. The music is fantastic!

5. It’s cleverly written and could never be duplicated in any other way really. It’s an iconic teenage film. It isn’t as heavy as The Breakfast Club (another one of my favorites, I’m an 80s movie kind of gal) but it still deals with topics that modern films ridicule, which is fine, but it’s nice for the theme of “young love” not to be mocked or sarcastic once in a while.

I love this movie so very much. If you haven’t seen Sixteen Candles, I highly recommend it. It’s another iconic Hughes film, the soundtrack is spectacular, it’s witty and playful but still handles coming-of-age problems in a non-shitty way, the cast is perfect and blends together so nicely, and it’s just a really great film. I’m done ranting, go watch it.

Rating 10/10

August 5, 2012
Memento (2000)

IMDB Synopsis:

A man, suffering from short-term memory loss, uses notes and tattoos to hunt for the man he thinks killed his wife.

This Christopher Nolan film starred guy Pierce, who gave a very convincing performance of being a victim of short-term memory loss. Honestly, it was probably more convincing than Dory in Finding Nemo. The film was actually based of a short story written by Nolan’s brother, Jonathan. Although it is long, the film, like other Nolan films, was compelling and I felt like I always wanted to know what happens next. The movie starts from the end of Leonard’s story (played by guy Pierce.) and then proceeds on from there, the movie basically illustrates how he got to the point he was at. Leonard is a very interesting man, he uses tattoos and notes to help him remember clues to help him find his wife’s killer. However, I warn my readers this: It can get very, very confusing at times. If you need to rewind it, do that, because it won’t make sense at the end if you get lost in the middle. Also, it’s on Netflix instant queue right now, so use that!

Rating 9/10

July 31, 2012
The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

IMDB Synopsis:

Eight years on, a new terrorist leader, Bane, overwhelms Gotham’s finest, and the Dark Knight resurfaces to protect a city that has branded him an enemy

Ok, if you’re comic book nerd like me, you will understand why I didn’t find the twists and turns of the Batman plot to be surprising. However, this film had a brilliant cast, director, cinematographer, etc. Literally, everything about this movie was completely fantastic. I would change a few things, but I can’t say much without spoiling some of the ending. Anne Hathaway did an amazing job as Selina Kyle/ Catwoman, any feminist would be proud. I hope for the future DC comics will put together a movie based on a superheroine. It’s refreshing to see Marion Cotillard take on another complicated Nolan character, because I prefer her in these kinds of roles rather than the one she took on in Midnight in Paris. (I loved that movie though). Bale delivered Bruce Wayne brilliantly, although he is an eccentric billionaire, the man has accessible qualities about him. I like how the different characters in Wayne’s life reflect different internal struggles, like Gordon representing Wayne’s conscious. I must warn you though, this is a longer film, so make sure you prepare yourself mentally and physically. I recommend it to everyone!

Rate 10/10

July 17, 2012
Marie Antoinette (2006)

IMDB Synopsis:

The retelling of France’s iconic but ill-fated queen, Marie Antoinette. From her betrothal and marriage to Louis XVI at 15 to her reign as queen at 19 and to the end of her reign as queen and ultimately the fall of Versailles

Despite dreadful IMDB reviews, I went and watched Marie Antoinette on Crackle. I love Sofia Coppola and I think she has an AMAZING eye. The projects she takes on always intrigue me and leave me thinking about her movies for days. Marie Antoinette, portrayed by Kirsten Dunst, is typically an infamous figure in French history for her lavish ways and misuse of public taxes, to say the least. However, in Coppola’s retelling of Marie’s life, you feel compelled to pity her. She is thrown into a loveless marriage with Louis, played by another one of my favorites Jason Swhartzman, at such a young age. This ultimately consequences in Marie gambling, throwing parties, etc. Dunst’s performance was absolutely stunning, possibly one of my favorite roles for her yet.

As for the much disputed use of pop music in a period movie such as this, I respect Coppola’s decision to do so. Some say it was to attract a teen audience, I doubt that. Her use of pop music was to represent the fact Marie Antoinette was like a rock star of 18th century France. The movie was just rated pg-13 because Coppola kept the language and sexuality tasteful, unlike other period movies with a gaudy misuse of royal sexuality. The pop music put a modern twist on the film, much like the film “A Knight’s Tale” with Heath Ledger and Shannyn Sossaman, (this is another one of my favorite films, mostly because of the cast. I’ll expand on a later date). However, I was very irritated by the mixing of French and English. The majority of the actors were American, so they spoke English, then tried saying things like “Adieu” and “Merci beaucoump.” Overall, Marie Antoinette is worth the watch if you are fan of wit, interpretations of historical events through modern-day media, and of course, the lovely Sofia Coppola.

Rate: 7/10